Exploring the Southern Continent

The Renegades Of Pern (The Dragon Books) by Anne McCaffrey

Rating: 4 out of 5.

Series: Pern (Chronological Order) #22Pern #10 / Literary Awards: SFBC Award (1990)

Renegades of Pern, published in 1989, starts a decade before the events of Dragonflight and covers the time up to Dragondrums fairly quickly. We get glimpses of Piemur, but the main storyline is otherwise just touched upon briefly here and there and shown through different POVs. Knowing the first two trilogies will give context, I recommend reading those first anyhow, although the first trilogy has a seriously dated tone and attitude.

I really liked Jayge‘s storyline, even though…

He had found her! He loved her! He would help her. The Weyrs and the Holds be damned. Hold and Weyr could not provide her with safety. He could and would!

Page 288

The dreaded instalove makes an appearance…

Apparently Jayge himself will also keep making appearances in:

Looking forward to that!

The first half of the book has a rather episodic feel to it, with different POVs in every chapter. I figured that I was reading one of these in-between books one doesn‘t really need. 

However, by the middle of the book many of those strands came together. It got pretty interesting and added new things to the overarching story of the world of Pern. We cover not just new, but also important ground. I really enjoyed myself, especially when we started to spend serious time on the Southern Continent, which is always fun.

Not to be skipped when making your way through the Dragonriders of Pern!

Pern Re-read
I started a re-read of the series in 2020/2021 and plan to read all the available main novels that I have not read yet.
I am deleting, as I progress through the series, mostly in publication order. I am not too fussed about the order for the rereads, so I will diverge where it seems practical…

Publication Order — main novels / next
* 1991 – All The Weyrs of Pern
* 1994 – The Dolphins of Pern
* 1998 – The Masterharper of Pern
* 2001 – The Skies of Pern
* 2003 – Dragon’s Kin
* 2005 – Dragonsblood
* 2006 – Dragon’s Fire
* 2007 – Dragon Harper
* 2008 – Dragonheart
* 2010 – Dragongirl
* 2011 – Dragon’s Time
* 2012 – Sky Dragons

Pern Wiki mainpage: https://pern.fandom.com/wiki/Main_Page

4 thoughts on “Exploring the Southern Continent

  1. I remember enjoying this one when I read it, though I sometimes get it confused with the short story “The Girl Who Heard Dragons.” At this point, it’s been long enough that I don’t remember if that short was expanded into this book, or if they just cover similar stories and timelines.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I don‘t know if I ever read „The Girl Who Heard Dragons.“ Is it part of a short story collection? Have to look it up… there is definitely a girl in this book that hears dragons.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s