Life and stuff…

I haven‘t posted in a week. I just didn‘t finish anything. One reason is that I spent the weekend with a friend at Lake Constance. It was very nice and I barely read anything. And my current paper book is not a page turner. Oh, yes, and nice weather and the European football championship! Tuesday out for drinks, last night public viewing of the match Germany : Hungary. 😜

I did read something. Here an update what I have been up to…

Clarkesworld Magazine, Issue 174, March 2021

MAMABORG’S MILK AND THE BRILLIANCE OF GEMS by D.A. XIAOLIN SPIRES, 3180 WORDS

Odd. I didn‘t connect. Mamaborg wears an exoskeleton and can’t nurse her child…🪆🪆

HOMECOMING IS JUST ANOTHER WORD FOR THE SUBLIMATION OF THE SELF by ISABEL J. KIM, 6240 WORDS

I loved it. In this world everybody crossing a border leaves behind an instance of themselves, with a full alternate life. Brilliantly imagined. 👯👯‍♀️👯‍♂️👯👯‍♀️ 

THE ORBITING GUAN ERYE by WANG ZHENZHEN, translated by CARMEN YILING YAN, 4560 WORDS

Ok, this one was bizarre. A humorous story about astrological space junk… 🐟🐟🐟 

SUBMERGENCE by ARULA RATNAKAR, 20800 WORDS, 2022 FINALIST: UTOPIA AWARD FOR BEST UTOPIAN NOVELLA

“As the people began to die, desperation drove us to the depths of the sea for cures. We mined mineral-rich vents until the tube worms went extinct, stripped polymetallic nodule fields bare, squeezed sludge out of sea sponges to treat the new diseases, these monstrous incurable plagues, born from our new climate, that spread through our air. But the people still died. So we dug even deeper . . .“

This story is the reason why I got this magazine issue. Will read it next… soonish… RTC.

Full magazine and links to the stories are here.

Peacemaker (Foreigner, #15)
by C.J. Cherryh (Author), Daniel Thomas May (Narrator)

Bren Cameron has the pieces now, of a decades-old plot that’s been threaded through Guild actions going back before his arrival on the continent, and more—he knows the person responsible is going to find out he knows, and find out within hours.

Three hours left of this audiobook. Another sub-trilogy almost finished. This one is really good. Once I finished it, my next audio will be this:

Dark Waters (Small Spaces, #3)
by Katherine Arden

Until next time. That was chilling promise made to Ollie, Coco and Brian after they outsmarted the smiling man at Mount Hemlock Resort. And as the trio knows, the smiling man always keeps his promises. So when the lights flicker on and off at Brian’s family’s inn and a boom sounds at the door, there’s just one visitor it could be. Only, there’s no one there, just a cryptic note left outside signed simply as –S.

My library hold took two weeks to come in, for a five-hour audiobook. Go figure. I‘ve had the ebook for a while, but didn‘t really get to it. I‘ve read the first chapter, this one is told from Brian‘s POV. Something with a monster in a lake and getting stranded on an island. Sounds promising!

I am also reaaaally slowly reading this paperback:

Kakerlaken (Harry Hole, #2)
by Jo Nesbø

When the Norwegian ambassador to Thailand is found dead in a Bangkok brothel, Inspector Harry Hole is dispatched from Oslo to help hush up the case.

I‘m not sure if it‘s Nesbø, the fact that it‘s a paperback or me, but I barely read more than 10 pages in the evening… 🤷

And I‘ve read the preface of this non-fiction book:

Sixty Harvests Left: How to Reach a Nature-Friendly Future
by Philip Lymbery

Sixty Harvests Left not only reveals how industrial farming is ruining our soils but shows how we can adapt to restore the planet for a nature-friendly future.

Taking its title from a chilling warning made by the United Nations that the world’s soils could be lost within a lifetime, Sixty Harvests Left uncovers how the food industry is threatening the planet. Put simply, without soils there will be no game over. And time is running out.

Can‘t really say much yet…

3 thoughts on “Life and stuff…

Leave a comment