Lovecraftian Halloween

I am not much of a seasonal reader, but I made an exception for this Halloween. I think I picked well.

The Resurrectionists (Salem Hawley, #1)
by Michael Patrick Hicks

Needles of black vapor curled into split lips and threaded its way up the nostrils, enshrouding the individual‘s head in a constantly stirring sack of mist.

Chapter Two

The first chapter is certainly creepy, showing a vivisection on a person. The above quote is a memory though, recalling the Battle of Camden in 1780, during the American Revolutionary War.
This novella is set a few years later. The main character, Salem Hawley, won his emancipation after fighting on the side of the colonies during the American Revolution and seems to be a teacher in New York.

This is about 150 pages, so I might finish today. So far I like the writing style.

3 thoughts on “Lovecraftian Halloween

    1. Yeah, it‘s definitely borderline for me. I expected more of a horror mystery and less gore. I am about halfway, I am pretty sure I will finish, but it‘s not quite what I expected.

      Like

Leave a comment