Blast from the past

The Black IncalThe Black Incal by Alejandro Jodorowsky
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

„Who is the real John Difool?“

My second re-read and my first buddy read for all six volumes of the main story of this classic comic series.

The colouring is wild and unusual, despite this comic being over 30 years old. Excellently done, how the colour sweeps across the page and the whole layout is arranged across the page. Very smart.

Looking forward to the next volumes.

+*+*+*+
Review of first re-read at the end of 2017, around 30 years after reading it for the first time…

First published in 1981. I probably read it shortly thereafter, as a teenager, branching out from Tintin, wanting something more artistic and with a deeper storyline. I could still kick myself that I didn’t keep those early editions.

I like everything about it, the story, the humour, the line art, the colouring. A lot of running, shooting, blowing stuff up, sci fi geek madness, The Fifth Element absurdness and it is as good as I remember.